Your local elected officials:

Shelley Hasselbrink
Mayor Pro Tem

Tanya Doby
Council Member, District 1

Ron Bates
Council Member, District 2

Jordan Nefulda
Council Member, District 3

City Council

The City Council is the legislative body of the City and is composed of five (5) members who serve at large and are elected by the registered voters of the City of Los Alamitos. General municipal elections are held in November of even years. City Council members serve staggered terms of four (4) years and can serve up to three (3) consecutive terms.

Annually, at the first regularly scheduled City Council meeting in December, the City Council shall elect a Member of the City Council to serve as Mayor. Immediately after the mayoral election, the newly elected Mayor shall conduct a City Council election to select a Mayor Pro Tempore. (Los Alamitos Municipal Code Chapter 2.04.100)

City Council Meetings

The City Council holds regular meetings on the third Monday of each month at 6:00 p.m. in the Council Chamber of City Hall, 3191 Katella Avenue, Los Alamitos. When the day for any regular meeting falls on a legal holiday, no meeting shall be held on the holiday, but a regular meeting shall be held at the same hour on the following business day. (Los Alamitos Municipal Code Chapter 2.04.010)

Other Elected Officials

For information on other government agencies, please click here.

Los Alamitos City Council
3191 Katella Ave., Los Alamitos, CA  90720
(562) 431-3538, ext. 220